Bird (quilt) block

For a friend’s birthday, I wanted to make her a gift… and well, I turned it into a learning opportunity too! I wanted to turn a picture of her pet bird (below) into a quilt block…

I started by making a simple line drawing. I drew long, simple lines as often as possible, to create a bunch of geometric shapes.

Once happy with my design I took a pair of scissors and cut it into shapes and marked up the colours needed!

Here’s what I ended up with, once I’d cut and sewed it up!

This block ultimately became a pot holder, but I didn’t take any photos of the final product before giving it to my friend. Ah, well… 🙂

Leave a Reply

