A summer Gabby

sarahs_avatarMy second sewing project of the Christmas break was my (second) Gabby top!

“Gabby” is a AU$6 downloadable, print-at-home pattern from Tessuti. The pattern is technically a dress, but I opted to shorten it into a top. Gabby is a really simple pattern – it’s made up of a front piece, back piece, sleeves… no zippers/buttons, no darts! As a result it’s a quick and easy sew!

I made the pattern up out of a light weight cotton lawn from Spotlight. (As an aside, I love that Spotlight are now stocking a lot more pretty cotton fashion fabrics… though truth be told, the vast majority of the lawns are in colours/patterns which are no good for me. But, when I spotted these green polka dots, I knew this was a pattern I would wear!)

So, here’s the top I made (sorry, apparently I only take photos of garments after I’ve been wearing them all day ;-)). It’s perfect for summer – cotton, light and breezy.

DSC04121

 

This is the top from the back…

DSC04122The neckline of the top is finished with bias binding. Now, just between you and me… I didn’t originally intend for the binding to be a contrast/feature – I accidently just sewed it on backwards, and couldn’t be bothered unpicking it! But, sometimes you get lucky, and you end up LOVING the mistake you made! 😀 Oh, and somehow I managed to get the bias binding to sit perfectly flat. Not sure what I did to achieve this, but you take it when it happens, right?!

DSC04127So far I’ve made 2 of these tops, and I have plans for one more – 2012 was a good year for finding patterns worth repeating! HUZZAH! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “A summer Gabby

  1. Kat says:

    Beautiful top! Dammit I wanted a step by step tutorial and perfectly flat bias binding that never fails!!! (*#&$*&#^$*&(#^@! If only such a thing existed… Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

