Pattern Magic dress for work!

Since my first post on attempting a pattern from Tomoko Nakamichi’s Pattern Magic book over 12 months ago Β (remember the boob hole? :-P), I’ve played around drafting a few other patterns from the book. A few months ago I decided I wanted (another) black work dress – but a more INTERESTING ONE this time. So I went decided to go back and re-try Musubu: Bow B! (Technically this was my third attempt of the pattern, the second became a white linen top, which unfortunately ended up discoloured and had to be thrown out – boo!).

This time, I wanted to incorporate the Bow B bodice fanciness into the bodice of a new dress. I used some black textured (striped) cotton from Potters for the dress, and this is what I ended up with!

First note – the skirt’s shorter than I intended. But by the time I realised it was about 4cm shorter than I wanted, it was too late! Oops! But definitely skill wearable, so that’s okay.

As the photo below shows, the dress is sleeveless. The dress isn’t lined (too difficult!), so I used bias binding around the sleeves, and around the edges of the bow.

Below is a slightly close(r) up of the bow. There’s a few small… let’s call them “quirks” that are apparent to me in this picture/to me when I wear it.

Quirk 1) relates to the fact that my block is a bit dodgy. The dress I originally developed the block from, had a scooped back neckline… and while I raised the back neckline, you can see in the photo below that the collar still sits a little too far from by neck. It’s no deal-breaker though!

Quirk 2) See (above) how the fabric above the bust doesn’t sit flat? The bow is meant to pull that fabric flat, but what I *think* has happened is that I sewed the collar too far down the front loop (see below) – leaving excess fabric not pulled through into the bow. Does that make sense?

Thankfully, none of the very minor “quirks” of this dress affects its wearability at all, so it gets worn quite often! Yay!

11 thoughts on “Pattern Magic dress for work!

  1. kaitui_kiwi says:

    Look at you all rocking the pattern drafting πŸ™‚ I love seeing wearable versions of these patterns! I have the Japanese versions so I just got all three of these books out from the library (the English versions so I can see the instructions to the patterns I really like) Your dress is fab! I really like how the collar sits up around the neck and the bow doesn’t seem to add too much bulk to the chest which I was worried about.

    • sarahscustard says:

      Two things re: not adding “too much bulk to the chest” – 1) it’s worth noting that I’m >5’10”, so the overwhelmingness of the bow might be more significant if your more petite (obviously!); 2) from memory, I also shortened the length of both pieces of the bow by maybe an inch so that I wasn’t being strangled by it. πŸ™‚

  2. Megan says:

    Wow! Well done making this dress. I’ve attempted one pattern from this book and it was hard work! I agree with Kaitui Kiwi that the bow looks stylish and not overwhelming. Maybe I will get my own book out again πŸ™‚

    • sarahscustard says:

      Thanks Megan! πŸ™‚ To be completely honest, this is one of the few patterns (out of Pattern Magic 1) that’s I’d even consider wearing – but I do ❀ it!

  3. Deb says:

    Well done for persevering with this stylishly timless design Sarah, just lovely, and I really think the shorter length gives a fresh youthful appearance on you.

    • sarahscustard says:

      Thanks Deb – the shorter length does increase the risk of others being blinded by my perpetually white legs, however. πŸ˜‰

  4. Kate says:

    Amazing dress, well done on mastering the pattern ! Any chance of bringing your pattern (and dress!) along to the sewing weekend so we can have a look???

  5. Ellen says:

    I like the way it stands up at the neck. Looks like you meant it to do that πŸ™‚ Good to see it finished. I think the only meet I’ve managed to make it too was when you were working on fitting the bodice. In a snazzy shade of yellow, I believe! Looks very cool!

    • sarahscustard says:

      That’s right! I’d make my practice versions out of some dodgy yellow polypop! Good memory Ellen – you’ll have to come back and join us again sometime :). Dwellingup on 16-18 November perhaps? πŸ˜‰

  6. Ellen says:

    I will try! I’ve been in Italy for what feel like forever, and the dwellingup weekend is my birthday weekend plus the first time I’ll have seen the hubby for 2 months, so I might have to skip that one! But I will be back πŸ˜€ Being away from my machine for so long means I’m itching to make some things for summer!

Leave a Reply

